Mary to be conferred with Padma Vibhushan, Sindhu Padma Bhushan

Mary to be conferred with Padma Vibhushan, Sindhu Padma Bhushan

NEW DELHI [Maha Media]: Six-time World Boxing Champion MC Mary Kom will be conferred with Padma Vibhushan on Republic Day here on Sunday while India's first to bag World title Champion PV Sindhu will get Padma Bhushan.

Mary is the only woman to become World Boxing champion for a record six times, the only woman boxer to have won a medal in each one of the first seven World Championships, and the only boxer to win eight World Championship medals. 

Nicknamed Magnificent Mary, she is the only Indian woman boxer to have qualified for the 2012 Summer Olympics, competing in the flyweight (51 kg) category and winning the bronze medal. Sindhu, will receive country's third highest award Padma Bhushan. Last year Sindhu had won women's singles title in August and became the first Indian shuttler to bag the World title. In 2016 Rio Olympics she also scripted history after winning silver. While 2011 World Cup winner cricketer Zaheer Khan, women fotballer Bembem Devi, former hockey player MP Ganesh, shooter Jitu Rai, hockey player Rani Rampal and archer Tarundeep ai will be conferred with Padma Shri.

Mary is also a recipient of Arjuna award in 2003, Padma Shri 2006, Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna 2009 and Padma Bhushan in 2013 while Sindhu was bestowed with Arjuna award in 2013, Padma Shri 2015 and Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna in 2016. 

Related News